Texas FFA News   Subscribe
By: Texas FFA
June 01, 2013

The Texas FFA Foundation has chosen 60 FFA members to serve as Ambassadors during the 85th annual Texas FFA State Convention set for July 8-12, 2013 at the Dallas Convention Center in Dallas, Texas. 

The Ambassadors applied through a competitive application process, with emphasis on FFA involvement, individual accomplishments and community service. During the largest youth led convention in Texas, the Foundation Ambassadors will serve as face-to-face hosts for special guests, sponsors and dignitaries on behalf of the Texas FFA. 

“Our Foundation Ambassadors, like many of the students who serve during convention, provide a valuable service in demonstrating the servant leadership traits of the Texas FFA. We appreciate these young people for volunteering their time to ensure our special guests have an extraordinary convention experience and for sharing the positive story of Texas agricultural education and the FFA,” said Texas FFA Foundation Executive Director Aaron Alejandro. 

Prior to arriving in Dallas, Ambassadors will study the history of the Texas FFA, Texas FFA Foundation and Texas FFA State Convention. Once onsite, they receive extensive training focusing on donor relations, personal skills development and professional networking in preparation for their week of service. In addition, the Ambassadors have a unique opportunity of experiencing firsthand the behind the scene complexities of convention week. 

The state convention is an exciting event used to inspire and motivate student leaders from more than 1,000 chapters in Texas to develop their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education. Throughout convention week, approximately 11,000 members and guests attend, with more than $2 million in scholarships to be awarded and more than 2,500 students recognized on stage for their accomplishments at the state level. The FFA continues to grow in Texas.  With more than 94,000 members across Texas, it is the largest state association in the nation.  

The Texas FFA Foundation selected Lauren Grainger to serve as the Ambassador Coordinator and Andrew Johnson to serve as the Assistant Coordinator. 

The 2013 Senior Ambassadors, who will serve as mentors and team leaders for the incoming Foundation Ambassadors, are listed below.  

Abigail Alejandro, Rider FFA
Rhett Bain, Canyon FFA
Nicole Baker, Huffman FFA (Team Leader)
Garrett Cobb, Canyon FFA
Lindsey Cobb, Tahoka FFA (Mentor)
Meagan Coberley, Sulphur Bluff FFA (Mentor)
Lacie DeRojas, Dawson FFA
Parker Dunkerley, Henrietta FFA (Team Leader)
Hagan Dutton, Iowa Park FFA
Laramie Eppler, Iowa Park FFA
Emily Fouts, Iowa Park FFA
Marc Hacksted, Needville FFA (Team Leader)
Tori Jones, Petersburg FFA
Rachel Knight, Franklin FFA
Sydney Little, Schulenburg FFA
Molly Maroney, Sam Rayburn-Ivanhoe FFA
Cody May, Crowley FFA (Team Leader)
Chanda Neal, Saltillo FFA (Team Leader)
Victoria Osburn, Gunter FFA (Team Leader)
Chase Shelton, Navasota FFA (Team Leader)
 Cheyanne Snead, Willis FFA (Mentor)
Bailey Stout, Trinity FFA 
Cheyenne Swor, Diboll FFA (Mentor)
Nizhoni Terronez, Iowa Park FFA
Haygan Thomas, Gilmer FFA (Team Leader)
Madison Yandell, Iowa Park FFA (Mentor/Coordinator)

The 2013 Junior Foundation Ambassadors are listed below. 

Emily Alford, Caldwell FFA
Alexandra Barbosa, RL Turner FFA
Brooke Blum, Howe FFA
John Boyett, Mansfield FFA
Sidney Bustamante, El Paso Coronado FFA
Kyle Carmack, Willis FFA
Brittney Casas, Huffman FFA
Ian Cobb, Tahoka FFA
Kate DeShazo, Azel FFA
MaryFrances Fazzino, Rudder FFA
Jelisa Fields, Morton Ranch FFA
Tatum Garvin, Friendswood FFA
Jordan Hevner, East Central FFA
William Hussey, Bryan Rudder FFA
Courtney Jasik, Irion Country FFA
Kye Maddox, Tilden FFA
Kayla Mancill, Buna FFA
Daniel Martinez, Lanier FFA
Stormi Matthews, Rouse FFA
Abby McCoy, West Hardin FFA
Shelby Mott, Rouse FFA
Ty Robertson, Granbury FFA
Jaclyn Robinson, Dayton FFA
Courtney Rosenbalm, Harmony FFA
Lexi Sherman, Lubbock Cooper FFA
Colton Tobias, Hamshire Fannett FFA
Trevor Vaughn, Windthorst FFA
Keenan Veillon, Whitehouse FFA
Morgan Vrazel, Danbury FFA
Brooke Wallace, Boling FFA
Kenneth Wiese, Cranfills FFA
Jenifer Wilkes, Simms FFA
Alec Winfrey, Seminole FFA
Mackenzie Yandell, Iowa Park FFA
Tanner Zachry, Iowa Park FFA